Thoughts on Thursday

So today was full of highs and lows. The biggest high being that Little Miss was in a good mood✊! Between all the work I had to do around the house, she pulled me aside several times to play with her. She comes up with the funniest, most unusual games. The first one was the most amusing, she decided it would be fun to play her little toy piano with barbie doll shoes on the ends of our fingers. I actually could not stop laughing, she was enjoying herself so much, it looked so ridiculous 😂 the second game required me to lay on the ground while she surrounded me with tubs of playdo, everytime I tried to get up, she’d pull me back down and say “mummy down, down!”. I don’t really know what the jist of this game was or where she was going with it but she seemed to be having fun, so I lay there quietly (not like I had a choice haha). So after the playdo game, I really needed to get some work done so I sent her to play outside. When I checked on her, she had put the dogs bed on her trampoline and was bouncing. Funnily enough, my dog was actually sleeping in his bed while she bounced him up and down. We are lucky that both our dogs are very tolerant and practically let her do anything to them.

Now for the low. I’ve always been unsure of the correct way to discipline my child and I know that people have different takes on what is acceptable or what is right. But I will tell you my story and let you make up your own mind. So tonight Little Miss decided that she wanted to climb the bookcase in her toy room. This is a huge no no for 2 reasons. No.1 the bookcase could fall on her and no.2 she could fall off the bookcase and hurt herself quite badly. So each time she attempted to climb it,  I pulled her down and said “no, you are not allowed to climb the bookcase” or “mummy said no, you could hurt yourself” or “no means no!”. This went on for about 5 or 6 attempts. Each time I pulled her down and said no, she would scream and kick and cry and run back over for another go. Feeling like I was not getting through to her, I let her climb up it. Once she was on top, she turned to me and smiled. I went over to her and asked for her hand and gave her a smack. Now I don’t generally smack, I can probably only count one other time. I really felt like I needed to scare her into not wanting to climb the bookcase ever again. What if she had climbed it while I was doing the dishes? Or while I was in the toilet? The thought absolutely terrifies me. Only a few months ago, I saw on the news that a toddler had died from a wardrobe falling on him.. anyway, after I smacked her on the hand, she started bawling her eyes out.  She looked at me like she hated me and I felt terrible. I picked her up and sat on the couch with her and I explained “when mummy says no, I mean it. I’m worried you will fall off the bookcase and hurt your head, just like humpty dumpty”. She seemed to understand and actually turned around and gave me a big cuddle.  I really hope I got through to her and I really hope I don’t have to do that again.  I never knew that parenting would come with so many, on-the-spot, hard decisions! On the one hand, I don’t want her growing up to be a spoilt brat but on the other hand I don’t want her to hate me for disciplining her. What does everyone else think?

I think it’s time for me to head to bed, I have a funeral to go to tomorrow unfortunately 😟 but on a lighter note, I found my two dogs snuggling on a chair while they thought I wasn’t watching. My girl dog is resting her head on his back. It made my day 👇👇🐕💕

image

 
                                                                                                                  Husband and wife 🙂

4 thoughts on “Thoughts on Thursday

  1. mythreeunderthree says:

    Discipline is the hardest for me too! I do much the same as you. My daughter really likes to test her boundaries and if I don’t smack her for the really important things it just doesn’t get through! You are doing a great job mom!

    Like

    • mumofone says:

      Thankyou so much. That means alot! Back in the day it wasn’t unusual to get a smack but these days its like a crime! So much pressure is put on parents. Your words are a lovely reassurance

      Like

  2. Accidentally Single says:

    It’s great how she can pull you away from all the busyness in the world and remind you to spend a few minutes enjoying the moment. Too often we’re too busy to enjoy the little things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

